(828) 898-5605 info@averycounty.com

Avery County Commissioners Office


Government Offices

About Us

Avery County is governed by a five member board of county commissioners which hold office for four years. A county manager is responsible for day to day county operations. Newland, the county seat, is governed by its town council. The five members of the council are elected for two year terms. The town's chief executive is an elected mayor. The mayor supervises the work of the different departments of the town's government. A town clerk, assisted by the mayor, is responsible for daily operations. Other townships in the county govern the same way.


Gallery Image avery.jpg
Gallery Image TeleAtlas.png
Gallery Image Avery_Viaduct.jpg
Gallery Image slider.jpg
Gallery Image slider3.jpg
Gallery Image slider5.jpg
Gallery Image 20190813_105737.jpg
Gallery Image 20190813_113246.jpg

Travel Guide

Explore the Extraordinary

Home of the Annual Woolly Worm Festival
and the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains.

Visitor, Relocation and Business Guide